Property crimes consist of illegal activities that involve stealing or damaging someone’s private property. Compared to violent crimes, property crimes aim for an object instead of a person and have a big number of reported crimes in Colorado. However, there are property crimes that can cause harm to the victim’s lives, such as arson and burglary which could lead to the need for a Denver jail bond.
Property crimes do not only happen in residential properties but also in commercial areas like a store. Shoplifting is under the statute of theft in Colorado. Theft refers to knowingly obtaining or exercising control over anything of value owned by someone without the owner’s permission. And to permanently deprive the owner and knowingly conceals, uses, or abandons the property.
Shoplifting can happen even without getting out of the store. A simple act of hiding the merchandise in the bag or pocket could be enough reason for a shoplifting charge. Also, a person who illegally alters the price to avoid paying the full price is considered a shoplifting violation. After an arrest for shoplifting, offenders can avail the service of the bail bonds company 24 hour for temporary release.
- Penalties for Shoplifting
The penalty for shoplifting depends on the value of the item involved, but shoplifting can be classified as petty, misdemeanor, or a felony. Petty offense shoplifting involves an item with less than $50 value. It is punishable with a fine and up to 6 months of jail time. Misdemeanor shoplifting involves an item that is valued at $50 but less than $2,000. The punishment can be up to 18 months of jail time and a fine of up to $5,000. In comparison, felony shoplifting involves an item with a value of $2,000 or more. It is punishable with up to 24 years of jail time and up to one million dollars fine.
It occurs when someone is knowingly entering or unlawfully remaining on another person’s property to commit a crime other than trespassing. Based on Colorado law, the intent to commit a crime does not only have to involve theft, nor does it have to be a felony. It can be any crime other than trespass.
The intention to do crime must be formed before or as the person entered the property. Therefore, if the person formed his intention to commit a crime after entering the property, a burglary charge is impossible.
- Penalties for Burglary
Like many criminal charges, burglary offenses can be divided into three degrees depending on the crime’s severity. A burglary offense is a class 3, 4, or 5 felony. The punishment will be up to 12 years in prison and a fine of up to $750,000.
Under Colorado law, the person who unlawfully enters or remains into someone’s property is considered a trespassing offender. In comparison, trespassing is like burglary but without an intent to commit a crime. Trespassing is divided into three charges: first-degree, second-degree, and third-degree. More often, trespassing is charged along with domestic violence.
- Penalties for Trespassing
Depending on the severity of the crime, trespassing can be charged as either a misdemeanor or felony. The punishment can be up to 3 years in prison and up to $100,000. Colorado DMV can also revoke the trespassing offender if he has been convicted of second-degree trespassing for entering or remaining in someone’s vehicle.
4. Criminal Mischief
Colorado law defines criminal mischief as “knowingly damages the real or personal property of one or more other persons.” For it to become criminal mischief, stealing should not be involved but rather an act that breaks, damages, or defaces one’s property without permission. The most common types of criminal mischief are:
- broken windows
- slashed tires
- vandalism such as painted graffiti, or defaced property,
- Tampered with fire alarms, emergency exits, or utility meters
- Set off smoke bombs
- Removed survey markers
- Introduced viruses to other person’s or business’ computer
- Damaged property due to domestic violence
- Penalties for Criminal Mischief
Like many property crimes, penalties are based on the seriousness of the damage and the total value of the property involved. In case the involved property is a vehicle, the driver’s license of the accused could get revoked by the Colorado DMV.
The sentence can be from class 3 misdemeanor to class 2 felony punishable for as short as six months of jail time up to 24 years in prison. Fines will be as little as $750 and as high as $1,000,000.
Under Colorado law, a robbery occurs when “a person who knowingly takes anything of value from the person or presence of another by the use of force, threats, or intimidation commits robbery.” There should be any fear or force present in the situation before robbery is charged against the offender. However, you won’t be guilty of robbery if either the property was yours or you were taking it and returning it to the rightful owner.
There are different categories of robbery depending on these two factors: whether there has been a deadly weapon used or threatened, and whether the object involved was the theft of controlled substances.
- Penalties for robbery
Colorado robbery has three categories: robbery, aggravated robbery, and aggravated robbery of a controlled substance. A simple robbery can be punishable for up to 6 years in jail and a fine of $2,000 to $500,000. Aggravated robbery with a controlled substance is punishable by up to 32 to 48 years in jail and up to a $750,000 fine.
It’s an act of intentionally, recklessly, or knowingly destroying or damaging property by fire, burning, or explosives. There are four statutes for arson in Colorado: first-degree, second-degree, third-degree, and fourth-degree, which depends on:
- the type of property involved
- whether you set the fire knowingly, intentionally, or recklessly
- Whose property it was
- The value of the damaged property
- Penalties for arson
Felony arson is punishable for up to 32 years, while misdemeanor arson has a punishment of up to one year of jail time and/or a $1,000 fine.
Being accused of a property crime is a serious charge and can cost you hefty fines, a high amount of bail bonds, and possible Denver jail time.
Contact your defense lawyer and Red’s Anytime Bail Bonds company 24 hour at 303-623-2245 to defend yourself at court, even outside prison.