Skip to main content

As of January 1, 2014, it has become legal in Denver for adults over 21 to purchase marijuana for recreational use at licensed retail stores. However, there are very strict rules when it comes to the consumption of marijuana. If caught violating any of these laws, you or your loved one or family member could be sent to jail. In that case, you will then be subjected to Denver bail policies in order to be released. To avoid getting penalized or detained, here are the most important things to remember when planning to consume marijuana in Denver and other cities in the state of Colorado.

  1. It is illegal to give or sell marijuana to minors
  2. It is illegal to drive high. This is considered DUI
  3. It is illegal to use marijuana in public
  4. It is illegal to take marijuana out of state
  5. You can only buy retail marijuana products from licensed establishments.

If you are 21 years old or older, whether resident or tourist, you actually have a constitutional right to possess and consume marijuana for recreational use. You can also legally possess up to 28 grams of concentrates or THC as defined in the Colorado Constitution. All you need to do is present a government-issued ID such as a driver’s license or passport. Store hours for marijuana stores are also limited. In Denver, stores operate from 8AM until 10PM only.

Retail marijuana is intended for personal use in private or in a licensed designated consumption area. It is illegal to consume marijuana in a public place, which includes public transportation, streets and highways, sidewalks, transportation terminals, schools, commercial areas,  bars and restaurants, parks, playgrounds, private buildings or facilities and any or all common areas. Basically, you cannot consume marijuana openly in full view of the public.

For tourists on a ski vacation in Colorado, it is illegal to possess marijuana when you are visiting national parks, national forests, monuments, or other federal properties such as courthouses. Also be aware that many ski areas are located on federal land. Your vacation could easily turn sour if you are not careful. Possession of marijuana on federal land is punishable by up to a year in jail and a fine of $1,000 on the first offense, along with a 15-day mandatory sentence..

Also, it is illegal to take marijuana across state lines. The borders of Colorado are monitored very closely by law enforcement. So think twice before trying to smuggle some marijuana products back to your home state.

If you are planning to consume marijuana, do not drive. Driving under the influence of marijuana is equivalent to alcohol DUI and can get you arrested as well as pay fines and have your license revoked.

If you are caught violating these marijuana laws, penalties range from a fine to possible jail or prison sentence. In the event that you do get arrested, contact a bondsman in Denver right away to get you out of jail and assist you with Denver bail policies.

If you are looking for a professional and experienced bondsman in Denver, Red’s Anytime Bail Bonds is one of the oldest and most trusted Denver bail bond agencies serving all of Colorado.  We have over 40 years of experience in the industry and is one of the first licensed bail bond agencies in Colorado.

Our team is on standby 24/7 to assist you with all your bail concerns. No bond is too small or too large. If your loved one or friend has been arrested for illegal use of marijuana, call Red’s Anytime Bail Bonds today at 303-623-BAIL!